LDH-512Hello and welcome. I’m not sure what you’re doing here or what it is you want to know, so I’ll start at the beginning…

I was born in 1981 and grew up in Atlanta, Georgia, USA. I have a brother named Charlie Werts who is about eight years younger than I am and now also married. I attended a private elementary school called The Children’s School, and then attended a large, secular private secondary school called Woodward Academy.

In 1999 I left Atlanta to study at the prestigious private undergraduate college at the University of Chicago.

At the very beginning of the year, I met my husband Aquinas Hobor, who lived in my dorm and was in one of my classes—and also has an admittedly strange name. We dated throughout college and got engaged in the spring of our senior year. We both graduated in 2003; I earned a BA in Linguistics and a BS in Computer Science, and Aquinas earned honors bachelor’s degrees in Computer Science and Math.

In September 2003, Aquinas and I moved to New Jersey, where he began a PhD program in Computer Science at Princeton University. I started working full-time for Princeton University Press in March 2004.

On September 4, 2004, Aquinas and I were married among family and friends in Atlanta, Georgia.

In October 2008, my husband successfully defended his PhD thesis. He was awarded a three-year Lee Kuan Yew Postdoctoral Fellowship at the National University of Singapore, so we moved from New Jersey to Singapore, arriving October 22, 2008.

He signed a new contract with NUS in October 2011, and in 2013 started working for Yale-NUS College as well, so we’re still living in Singapore. For the time being.

I won’t say that I’m an editor, writer, teacher, programmer, or project manager; these labels never quite fit. Nevertheless, editing, writing, teaching, programming, and tracking projects are all things I have done or am doing. If you are interested in the details of my work history, see my LinkedIn page.

If you wish to contact me, send email to lucyday at